Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: weber progressive
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
blauer
I'm new to the porsche game. I have a 73 with a 1.7l. It all was in a box. I've had experience with Type 1 bug motors but not 4. I have bought the weber progressive carb kit, planning on ordering the svda 034 from hotspark. Is the camshaft a big issue since it was an injected motor? Any info will help. Thanks.
realred914
QUOTE(blauer @ Aug 3 2010, 11:20 AM) *

I'm new to the porsche game. I have a 73 with a 1.7l. It all was in a box. I've had experience with Type 1 bug motors but not 4. I have bought the weber progressive carb kit, planning on ordering the svda 034 from hotspark. Is the camshaft a big issue since it was an injected motor? Any info will help. Thanks.

yup, big issue, teh FI system has a special cam need, cause the FI runs of vacuum singal, any changes there will effect teh tuning, and the FI has a really limited ability to be tuned. There are some aftermarktet non-stock grinds that will work with the stock FI (Jake Raby sells one that wworks, made for imporved prerformance but still works with stock FI)

in general a carb type cam will not work with the D-jet FI, dont do it!

unless your going for high performance, the stock FI is very nice, drivable and still capible of decnet perfromnance. however if you want a lot more power, the stock FI is limited. I prefer the Fi over carbs for a daily driver on a stock ish or slightly bigger than stock motor. for much more power you need to go aftermarket FI or Carbs. but the big bucks for that upgrade means it only makes sence if I do all the other things to get big power boost over stock.

have fun with yoru box of parts!!!!! keeps us posted on teh project, good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

smontanaro
I'm new to the porsche game.

Actually, you are new to the NARP game. If all you've owned is a 914, you haven't really owned a Porsche, dontcha know? :-)

Welcome...

S
VaccaRabite