Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Stereo Wiring
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Cambo
Yes, I'm not a stereo expert. Car has a Sony Explod deck and Explod speakers. Wiring harness has 2 wires for each speaker. One plain, one with black stripe. Which one is positve/negative?

Also, speaker has pins, one large with red wire going into the speaker, one small pin with black wire and a weird blue curcuit thingy inline? What's positve/negative on the speaker?

Thanks, all was already in car when I bought it but it was wired hillbilly style, lots of splices, crappy wiring etc. Replaceing wire, less spices, better connections etc. Can't afford new stereo/speakers right now so I'm trying to resurect the old stuff.

Oh, also found a two channel Alpine amp tucked up under the dash with a whopping 18 watts per channel, thing looks pretty old and it's tiny. Think it was a dealer install?
Spoke
There is no pos/neg with modern stereos. Stereos use a balanced approach where one wire goes positive and one goes negative to effectively double the amplitude of the music wave.

Either wire will work on either speaker terminal. Just don't ground either wire; they need to float with respect to ground.
Cambo
QUOTE(Spoke @ Aug 3 2010, 02:39 PM) *

There is no pos/neg with modern stereos. Stereos use a balanced approach where one wire goes positive and one goes negative to effectively double the amplitude of the music wave.

Either wire will work on either speaker terminal. Just don't ground either wire; they need to float with respect to ground.

Really? So why different color wiring, why different size pins on the speaker?
Lennies914
QUOTE(Cambo @ Aug 3 2010, 02:42 PM) *

Really? So why different color wiring, why different size pins on the speaker?

as long as you are consistant you will be fine. If you use the striped wire to the small pin just do the same on the other speaker.
Spoke