Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: '73 and '74 2.0 Differences?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Torque
I am a newbie, but did own a '71 1.7 back in '79 while I was in college. Anyway, I am going to look at a '74 2.0 tomorrow and knowing that the '73 2.0 is the "one to get" my question is: How do the '73 and '74 2.0 models differ? Is the '73 truly "better" for some reason?

Thanks in advance!!

John
davep
Very little difference between the two. If anything it is the extras; the 73 was loaded in most cases ( chrome bumpers, sway bars, Fuchs, console instruments) but much of that was optional on the 74.
SLITS
'73 has two pipes on the throttle body for vacuum lines ... '74 has one. Porsche determined the advance was not needed and only used the retard function.
orange914
QUOTE(SLITS @ Sep 3 2010, 07:40 PM) *

'73 has two pipes on the throttle body for vacuum lines ... '74 has one. Porsche determined the advance was not needed and only used the retard function.

thats interesting (or just retarded), i remember in the early 80's ca. smog testing, you had to disconect & plug the dist. advance, along with a nox decal put on the speedo. (on my 442 & mustang anyway). the reason was to lower combustion temps. under 2500* to eliminate the NOX emissions. what it really did was lower m.p.g. & power.

sorry for the hijack

side note: 73 up had the side shift, some early 73's had the lighter, non reinforced doors.
914four
QUOTE(Torque @ Sep 3 2010, 08:26 PM) *

I am a newbie, but did own a '71 1.7 back in '79 while I was in college. Anyway, I am going to look at a '74 2.0 tomorrow and knowing that the '73 2.0 is the "one to get" my question is: How do the '73 and '74 2.0 models differ? Is the '73 truly "better" for some reason?

Thanks in advance!!

John

74 has bumper tits on the back as well as the front. 73 only had them on the front.

Kelvin

welcome.png
underthetire
73 has silver dot gauges, 74 does not.
Bleyseng