Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Driving 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Niklas
Ok I have bougth to 914 a -72 and a -73 after reading this forum.
I have been renovating VW:s for more than 20 years so I know those cars.
I will start renovate them within a month. I am very excited for it.
I realy like to do the work with the body - rust etc.

I have never been driving one just Vw:s.
It was smaller inside then I thought when I was sitting in one last week.

I am thinking of making one strictly original and the other one
more of a race inspired look. The original whill be black and
the other one is original black too buth I am thinking of making it signal orange
with fender flares. Is it ok to use plastic fender flares ?
I got them with the car and I am wondering if it is ok to cut the car or
should I leave it original too or maybe use steel ones?

Will I be happy with driving the 914:s when I am ready ?

Niklas
carr914
Do the car up the way you want IF you are going to keep it. If it will be short term, your taste's may not match buyers. By that I mean, a lot of people don't like color switchs and F/G flares may not appeal. F/G flares are OK if done right, but remember if you flare, you are going to need bigger wheels, which will lead to bigger brakes, more motor, etc.

Will you be happy driving a 914 - that depends on what your expectations are. If you like driving a go-cart, you'll love it.

T.C.
Ian Stott
Just post a picture with your great big smiling face after your first drive in your own 914, your question will be answered!

Ian Stott
Moncton
Canada
Mark Henry
No matter how much money you spend on a bug it will never handle as nice as a 914. They drive different (if you like/have big engine bugs) you can not just slide the ass around, because once the rear breaks loose on a 914 you're spinning out. That said you can take corners real fast compared to a bug.