Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Only one horn?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pete000
I had the front bumper off for the first time and noticed only one horn on the drivers side. The wiring is there for the optional fog lamps and horn on the passenger side, but there is a plastic cap where the bolt for the horn would go.

Mine is a 74 1.8 which seems to have near no options. Black bumpers, no fog lamps, tinted glass etc...

Did the base model not get dual horns?

Also my steering wheel is just black hard plastic. Most I have seen are moulded rubber leather look. Is this because of it being a base car as well?

I am new to the 914

Thanks for any info...

trent1542
QUOTE(pete000 @ Sep 11 2010, 10:14 PM) *

I had the front bumper off for the first time and noticed only one horn on the drivers side. The wiring is there for the optional fog lamps and horn on the passenger side, but there is a plastic cap where the bolt for the horn would go.

Mine is a 74 1.8 which seems to have near no options. Black bumpers, no fog lamps, tinted glass etc...

Also my steering wheel is just black hard plastic. Most I have seen are moulded rubber leather look. Is this because of it being a base car as well?

I am new to the 914

Thanks for any info...

My '70 1.7L has two horns, one on driver side and one on passenger side, both on the inside of the fog lamps.
914Sixer
Base cars may have had only one horn. Adding a second low note horn is easy and the foglights are the same.
swl
The wiring diagrams show the second horn as an option.

I don't think I have ever heard of a 914 with a plastic steering wheel. Could you post a picture?
EdwardBlume
Porsche did a nice job of striping the 914 by 74 and later...
JFJ914
QUOTE(pete000 @ Sep 12 2010, 01:14 AM) *

I am new to the 914

Thanks for any info...

Yes to all your questions. Everything was in an option package, appearence and performance, by '74.
pete000