Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Which direction should I go?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RJMII
I've been drooling over the Boxster S transaxles for a couple of years now, and told myself that when I got the Twin Turbo engine (with ridiculous amounts of horsepower for the 901) that I should upgrade my transaxle.

well, on my way home from Red Rocks I dragged a little trailer home with the new engine on it. It will bolt directly to my adaptor plate that I have now, while increasing my internal displacement by half a liter and adding another turbo. My winter project will be to get my car ready for Rt 66. smile.gif

Which way should I go? Should I get the Boxster S automatic and add another cooler to my array and figure out the daunting task of setting it up to be paddle shifted; or should I go with a cable shifted Boxster S 6 speed?
rick 918-S
Chappy is running a 901 behind a 3.0? twin plug turbo. The power and torque come on after you have the clutch engaged so the theory is there is much less stress on the box. He hasn't broken his box....yet... biggrin.gif
ottox914
QUOTE(rick 918-S @ Sep 19 2010, 01:18 PM) *

Chappy is running a 901 behind a 3.0? twin plug turbo. The power and torque come on after you have the clutch engaged so the theory is there is much less stress on the box. He hasn't broken his box....yet... biggrin.gif

I think its a 3.3 motor.

And I think, but could be wrong, that his 901 has a scavenge pump and the exterior has been plumbed to put sprayers on the gears/bearings to try to keep it together longer.

Crazy challenge, but I like the idea of the 6sp paddle shifter. When you master it, let me know, the 914T could use something like that.
iamchappy