Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 ignition switch push start/master switch
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
go2hamster
I am a forum newbie.I have a 71 porsche 914 and the ignition switch went bad. I want to set it up with a master on switch and an engine start button. I'm having a hard time reading the wiring schematic, can someone tell me what wires to hook to master on switch and what wires to hook to start button. I have 6 wires: 1-red (thick) 2-red w/black stripe 3-black 4-black w/yellow stripe 5-grey(thin) 6-brown w/blue stripe(thin). Any help would be great.
type47
Where in VA? See if you can figure out which color wires connect when you turn the key to the start position (I would think that would be for the push button) and which wires connect when you turn the key from start to run/on (ON switch)

Bartlett 914
QUOTE(go2hamster @ Sep 23 2010, 07:49 AM) *

I am a forum newbie.I have a 71 porsche 914 and the ignition switch went bad. I want to set it up with a master on switch and an engine start button. I'm having a hard time reading the wiring schematic, can someone tell me what wires to hook to master on switch and what wires to hook to start button. I have 6 wires: 1-red (thick) 2-red w/black stripe 3-black 4-black w/yellow stripe 5-grey(thin) 6-brown w/blue stripe(thin). Any help would be great.

Replace the switch!
type47
If you look at tracks 80-81 on the electrical diagram

http://www.pelicanparts.com/914/parts/Elec...lectric_74E.jpg

you can see the starter and solenoid for a 74 electrical circuit but I can't tell you if there is any difference with a 71. I agree you could replace the switch...
tradisrad
Dude, put in a new switch. It is a bit harder on the 70 & 71s but it is the right repair. It will require some soldering. The column hooks to the wiring harness through a connector that is under the dash. You can remove the entire steering column and replace the switch "on the bench".