Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I have a feeling my 914 transmission will die soon! Help!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
recko911
I call upon my comrades here at 914 world...... Recently I have been hearing a strange rattling noise when I accelerate out of 1st thru 3rd gears. It has been getting worse. It only occurs when I accelerate and sounds like something is loose in there. I am pretty certain it's coming from my tranny. Has any body had an issue like this and how can I troubleshoot it. confused24.gif
recko911
Do you guys think I need a new tranny or rebuilt anybody know of any in Los angeles
silver74insocal
i would look at your shift rod bushings,and your motor mounts before worrying about replacing your tranny. also, how old is the oil in it? im hoping not factory installed smile.gif flush it and look for sparkles in it. if it nots grinding and popping out of gear, or spewing out oil...your probably ok but im no expert beerchug.gif Dave
recko911
[quote name='silver74insocal' date='Oct 4 2010, 09:25 PM' post='1379422']
i would look at your shift rod bushings,and your motor mounts before worrying about replacing your tranny. also, how old is the oil in it? im hoping not factory installed smile.gif flush it and look for sparkles in it. if it nots grinding and popping out of gear, or spewing out oil...your probably ok but im no expert beerchug.gif Dave
[/quot

Ok good advice. How much oil does a tranny take
silver74insocal
http://www.pelicanparts.com/914/914tech_specs.htm

that oughtta keep you busy for awhile...good luck neighbor beerchug.gif
Dr Evil