Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Interesting /6 cooler set-up
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mark Henry
Here's an interesting cooler set up, done on a 3.0 245hp engine running in cali heat with no issues. Done for an original /6 that the owner didn't want cut up for a front cooler.
What do you guys think?

BTW before you totally knock it it was done by Henry Schmidt at Supertec, so the builder does have some credibility.shades.gif
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
patssle
Very nice, but doesn't the hot air go directly into the engine?
bmtrnavsky
I'm not really an expert on these things, but that's a low pressure area with not much air flow... Maybe a fan would help though? It sure is a clean looking install though.
J P Stein
I'm one of those guys who thinks that if a little bit is good, then a lot is better.
Consequently my motor never has seen an oil temp of over 100C.

Getting the motor up to temp is a bit of a problem. I used to throw a towel over the GT style lid to get it warm faster.....blocking off about 80% of the air flow. Goose the throttle and the towel would quickly conform to the grid pattern of the lid. dry.gif

You don't need an aux cooler till you *really* need it. Then it had better work, IMO. I've never had that problem. This set-up would seem to create a heating loop
that would not satisfy the *really* part.

brer
That cooling fan pulls huge amounts of air through it. I do not think the oil cooler makes enough heat to effect the air temp in any significant way.
J P Stein
My thermostat opens at 185 deg F then the oil goes to the aux cooler. When it leaves the cooler the line is only warm to the touch. That gives the engine relatively cool oil. In this set-up, where does the extra 80 deg air go?
Mark Henry
Quote Henry Schmidt: "The engine never had temperature issues even in California on a hot day."

My question: Henry, wouldn't that pre-heat the cooling air?