Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Suspension Console Jig
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pktzygt
I will be replacing my inner suspension console and was hoping to get some tips on making a jig to get it back in the correct position. I will be installing the tangerine reinforcements so this does not happen again.

I will be tacking it in myself and plan on hiring a professional welder to come to the house and finishing it off. I'm new to welding and I don't think I should trust myself with such a critical weld.

So, does anyone know of any threads that I have missed that detail a jig. Or any tips on doing it. I have been having a hard time finding the measurements that are supposedly on Pelican.
pktzygt
Well, now I find the good threads.

Who thinks I should try to weld it myself.
ChrisFoley
QUOTE(pktzygt @ Oct 28 2010, 11:33 AM) *

If you do some practice welds on similar materials you should be fine.
Use the old console that you cut off as material for practicing.
welder.gif
PeeGreen 914
beerchug.gif As I read the title I was thinking you should talk to Chris. And here he is posting already aktion035.gif
pktzygt
QUOTE(Racer Chris @ Oct 28 2010, 12:12 PM) *

QUOTE(pktzygt @ Oct 28 2010, 11:33 AM) *

If you do some practice welds on similar materials you should be fine.
Use the old console that you cut off as material for practicing.
welder.gif

Thanks Chris,
Maybe I'll practice on the old one, then install the reinforcement piece I got from you on the other side. Then I'll see how the new one goes.

And they say it's hard to beak things autocrossing!!!
At least I did well before putting a few degrees of camber on the rear wheel.
smontanaro
QUOTE(pktzygt @ Oct 28 2010, 10:33 AM) *

What good threads? Aren't they all good threads? My, that's a nice suit you have on... wink.gif
pktzygt
QUOTE(smontanaro @ Oct 28 2010, 02:14 PM) *

QUOTE(pktzygt @ Oct 28 2010, 10:33 AM) *