Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Picture Comparison of 96mm Cylinders
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tornik550
I received a set of 96mm cylinders from European Motorworks today. They look great. I thought I would take example pictures of each of three different 96mm set that I have. One set is AA brand. One set if the European Motorworks (EMW) set. One is unknown to me- no markings, looks decent however I do not know the brand (any ideas?).

Please note that the AA set has about 200 miles on them, the unknown set has about 10,000 miles per previous owner and the EMW set is new.

Disclaimer- I am far from an expert- I am only taking pictures for others reference. I have no connection to any of the companies. Please let me know if I have made any mistakes.
tornik550
More
McMark
Interesting how tall the top/head sealing surface is on the 'unknown' cylinder, relative to the first fin.
sean_v8_914
the hone angle is really flat on the AA and unknown. the AA must be older. the current AAs have "AA" cast into the base fin. maybe one is QRS

get the rust off that AA if you intend to keep it
tornik550
I should point out the reason that I am posting the pics. I am no expert however the AA jug seems so obviously poorly made. They feel like crap. The EMW jugs seem to be high quality which seems apparent in the pictures. You can feel a difference between teh jugs when you pick them up- the AA jug just feels cheap- the EMW jug feels very solid.

Could the unknown jug be NPR? The PO of my car had used many NPR parts.
rhcb914
QUOTE(sean_v8_914 @ Dec 3 2010, 09:11 AM) *

the AA must be older. the current AAs have "AA" cast into the base fin.

I agree. The AA set that I used looked MUCH better than those, didn't have the slag between the fins either.
tornik550
QUOTE(rhcb914 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:19 PM) *

I agree. The AA set that I used looked MUCH better than those, didn't have the slag between the fins either.