Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Custom Seat Bolsters For Stock Seat
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rnellums
I was some spare time after christmas and had wanted a seat with a little more support, but didnt want to go too far away from the stock look. I decided to modify one of the seats I already had by adding some fiberglass and then re-upholstering with fabric so its cooler in the summer. I sewed all the covers myself on a 1903 singer treadle machine.
Click to view attachment
I got a kick out of the lumbar support here, looks like someone just stuffed some extra matting back there.
Click to view attachment
After I got all the old covers off it
Click to view attachment
I epoxied some wooden stakes to the old frame to help support the fiberglass addition
Click to view attachment
Stakes with fiberglass coverage area sanded
rnellums
Some more photos:
Click to view attachment
Here are the bolsters all glassed in, I added some foam under the support to fill the gap inside the shell
Click to view attachment
This is the left side of the seat cover, half way through the stitchingClick to view attachment
The seal all nice and wrapped, with only the cushions left to make using the breathable fabric
Click to view attachment
Here you can see the differences in the bolsters, not too great, but there, If I were to do this part again, I would try to eliminate the diamond i added on both sides.
rnellums
Last pic, all finished up, Im hoping that some of the wrinkles will go away as the vinyl stretches. All in all, I think I did a fair job of it.
Click to view attachment
rnellums
now if I could only get the smell of contact cement out of my house... wacko.gif
EdwardBlume
Nice work! aktion035.gif
Zimms
agree.gif

When is the road test?
SGB
Looks really good. Only you will notice the wrinkles, and they might become less apparent after a while in summer temps.
Jeffs9146
Been done before, see this old thread!

Seat Bolsters
KaptKaos