Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dragging Brake
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
no1uno
Newbie here. Just purchased a 73. After driving it from the seller, I noticed the right front wheel is warmer than the others. I'm guessing a dragging/sticking caliper. What else could it be? bearings? something else? The car had been driven infrequently for the past couple of years. Just bought a Haynes manual and I'm ready to get going with all the little problems.

What else should I be addressing with my new-to-me 914. I plan an oil change soon. How can I improve the shift quality. I'm not expecting Miata like shifting but I'm sure there is room for improvement. Previous owner didn't provide any records other than all engine seals had been replaced about a year ago.

Thanks in advance. I'm looking forward to the journey...
oldschool
QUOTE(no1uno @ Jan 1 2011, 07:21 AM) *

Newbie here. Just purchased a 73. After driving it from the seller, I noticed the right front wheel is warmer than the others. I'm guessing a dragging/sticking caliper. What else could it be? bearings? something else? The car had been driven infrequently for the past couple of years. Just bought a Haynes manual and I'm ready to get going with all the little problems.

What else should I be addressing with my new-to-me 914. I plan an oil change soon. How can I improve the shift quality. I'm not expecting Miata like shifting but I'm sure there is room for improvement. Previous owner didn't provide any records other than all engine seals had been replaced about a year ago.

welcome.png first just ask the po whats the deal with the breaks he may have a answer ...maybe and yes it will never be a Miata cause its gay, but if you change a of the shifting point bushing and maybe the trans, mounts you will have a better shifting ride. shades.gif
914itis
QUOTE(oldschool @ Jan 1 2011, 10:53 AM) *

QUOTE(no1uno @ Jan 1 2011, 07:21 AM) *