Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Camber set up for six
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
sixaddict
Doing some "work" to get more negative camber up front ...but now trying to decide entirre set up....Been so long since had this done I am forgetting.
RA1, 16 X 225 50 w/ 7.5" wheels front
Ditto 16 x 225 45 w/ 8.5 rear
Shooting for 2 1/2 negative up front
What should I do @ the rear.
Mainly DE/track but some autocrossing.
Prefer to compromise ax set-up as opposed to track. 2.7 at this time if it matters.
Thank for the help
Terry
J P Stein
There is really no simple answer to the question.
I have no experience with RA1s other than they are radials and like more camber that bias plies.

This thread and associated links will give you an idea about where to start and how to test to determine what your particular set-up likes best.

I will ad that my MR2 set-up for AX has a pee pot full of negative camber and 0 toe front & rear. Driving it on the street is a PITA.....it wants to follow every seam & undulation on the road.....turns good tho. biggrin.gif

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-aut...od-thought.html
PeeGreen 914
With my RA1s I had a little over -2 in the rear and it felt great.
sean_v8_914
neg camber in that range will make RA1 work well under the foot of a very agressive driver. if you do not jamb it into the sidewalls you will just get too much inside wear needlessly.
neg 2.5 in the front may req mods to the shock top plates and elongation of eh 3 plate mount holes....or tarret chamber plates
brilliantrot
Negative camber settings are a function of driver aggression, tire construction, and the rest of the suspension set up. When I was running my relatively softly sprung 914-4 on Hoosiers, I had -4 degrees of front camber and tire temps said I needed more. Keeping the car flatter would have reduced the need for more camber.