Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: removing starter
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tomh
I can not locate any threads on this topic and I have never done this before.
I can see the bottom bolt but cannot see the top one. Do I have to unbolt it from inside the engine compartment?
phatnine11
QUOTE(tomh @ Jan 30 2011, 09:26 PM) *

I can not locate any threads on this topic and I have never done this before.
I can see the bottom bolt but cannot see the top one. Do I have to unbolt it from inside the engine compartment?

Tomh,
you are correct, you unbolt the top bolt from inside the engine compartment.
914itis
yup, and because of the lenght of the bolt, after unbolt, you may have to pull the starter back a bit, then pull the bolt all the way out.
detoxcowboy
disconect the battery! biggrin.gif once you find the top bolt, it is a piece of cake..
76-914
welcome.png Yep, and if your working by yourself place a boxed end wrench over the bolt head in the engine compartment. It will wedge against the engine as you loosen the nut.
Cap'n Krusty
Don't get too frustrated if the box wrench won't fit over the bolt because the part of the starter casting meant to hold the bolt head gets in the way ...............

The Cap'n
underthetire
And the job is much easier if you pull the tire, unless your on a lift. As the capn said, just unbolt the top one from the engine side, the starter flange will hold the head of the bolt for you. Then pull the bottom nut. Pops right off. After all the "lifetime" flaps starters I can now do one in less than 15 minutes.
erwindv
QUOTE(underthetire @ Jan 31 2011, 05:57 PM) *

And the job is much easier if you pull the tire, unless your on a lift. As the capn said, just unbolt the top one from the engine side, the starter flange will hold the head of the bolt for you. Then pull the bottom nut. Pops right off. After all the "lifetime" flaps starters I can now do one in less than 15 minutes.