Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 24mm front torsion bars
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
vintage914racer
The largest 914 front t-bars I have been able to find is 23mm. I know I can switch to 911 a-arms and get more t-bar sizes, but I'm curious if anyone out there makes 24mm t-bars for 914- a-arms.

I already have 911 a-arms for a swap if need be, but it would be nice to save a few hours of work...
sean_v8_914
no. if you want higher spring rates you must switch to coikl over front set up
sean_v8_914
coil over
pcar916
I've been using 23mm torsion bars with a 22mm sway bar for many years. Combined with Bilstein sport shocks and 200# rear springs. It's extremely stiff. You want more?

What does the rest of the suspension look like, is this a race car (as your moniker would suggest) and do you have a full cage tied into the suspension points? LSD or TBD? Both ends have to be designed at the same time or I'd be afraid of chasing a moving oversteer/understeer target.
vintage914racer
Thanks everyone for the replies. Unfortunately rules won't allow me to switch to a coilover setup.

Pcar916--Car is a dedicated track car with full cage tied into shock towers. Right now I'm running the following:

23mm front torsion bars
22m front sway
no rear sway
275lb rear springs
Bias Ply Hoosier TDs
1871 pound car

Car is very neutral with this setup.

Two local 914 guys who frequent the same tracks (mostly Road America) as I do, and are very quick, suggested upping my spring rates to the following:

24mm front torsion bars
~500lb rear springs

Both noted a significant improvement with this setup at RA. I'm certainly open to other suggestions though.
SirAndy
QUOTE(vintage914racer @ Feb 18 2011, 11:38 AM) *
~500lb rear springs

blink.gif

I've only seen 500lbs rear springs on a 914 once, and that was on Scott Yeaman's silver tube frame 914.

He only ran them for two events before going back to a somewhat softer setup. It was way too bouncy.