Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Leaking head gasket
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ripper911
So... I've recently had my heat exchangers replaced becaue my old ones were old and leaky. But, it's still loud! confused24.gif Head Gasket leak!

So, since I need to use this car as a daily driver, I have to know.
Is is safe to drive around with a head gasket leak?
it seems to run fine, it just sounds like a lawnmower.
AndyB
Didnt you just get it serviced?
underthetire
Leaking anything in the combustion area is pretty much the same as a plasma cutter. Good things turn bad pretty quick.
sean_v8_914
plasma cutter...good description

head leaks sound like a wet flag flapping i a storm breeze
silver74insocal
QUOTE(Scarlet75 @ Feb 19 2011, 10:00 AM) *

Didnt you just get it serviced?

agree.gif i hope they gave you your old parts cuz they most likely have nothing wrong with them. did they tell you it was a head gasket problem?
RJMII
head gasket problem turns to this in a hurry:

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=115794

That plasma cutter comparison was pretty good. biggrin.gif
underthetire
Mine sounds then same btw. It's only once it warms up does it sound terrible. Pretty sure I have a badly cracked head, along with #3 valve sunk. I drive it to the grocery store and back is about it, just to burn up the remaining gas. Kinda want to scatter the motor since it's a bus 2.0. Might be fun.
McMark
Totally drivable as long as you consider that the longer you drive it the worse the damage will be and the fact that you may end up stuck somewhere if the cylinder gets really bad.
ripper911
Before I picked it up from the shop, since I picked it up on a weekend and didn't speak to the mechanic, he told me that there is a head gasket leak that is causing cylinder #3 to miss at idle but that it does fine once you get going.