Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Auto Body paint
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Andyrew
I've got a friend thats looking for a super cheap paint job, I stumbled upon this site and their stuff looks pretty decent, but has anyone used their products?

paintforcars.com Brand looks like Starfire.

They have the black my friend wants, but they also have a "tangerine twist" that looks similar to Phoenix red... and for 80 a gallon of single stage, that would give me enough paint to mess up and try again (Or put a bunch of coats on, vs just 2)!

This is my first time actually spraying a car, (i've sprayed fenders and such in school with perfect results) and i'll be spraying my friends car in a garage.

I was thinking of ordering some color chips to see how it looks. Anyone use these products or something similar?

Thanks all!
McMark
A lot of cheap-o paints won't cover as well as the expensive stuff. So you can have striping problems, whatever's underneath can show through, or you end up using twice as much just to make it look decent. Just depends on how much he doesn't really care.

IMHO, don't waste your time on a 'super cheap black'. That's the worst color choice the cheap out on.
Andyrew
Mark, While I agree with you, its either this, or he pays Mayco to spray it with THEIR cheap crap... a 2 stage priced from the local paint store was $230. Mayco quoted my friend 280 for materials and labor and it comes with a warranty...

And no, he really doesnt care, he just wants it painted as cheap as possible.

I know there is really really crappy stuff out there, which is why im asking you all if you have ever dealt with this or is there some place you have dealt with that is cheap but has decent products.
injunmort