Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: TIG Welding
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
seanery
OK, Now I'm totally confused.
At first I wanted a stick welder, then I learned MIG. Then I wanted a MIG welder, then I learned TIG. Now I want a TIG welder.

What's a boy to do?!

Seriously, I know we've talked about this before, but I need help. I did really well doing aluminum and I've always wanted to make my own bicycle frame, so TIG could be really cool.

HELP ME!
Brad Roberts
I'll help:

The TIG welder cost a lot more than a MIG welder.

Soon you'll be making oil coolers for all of us.

B
Gint
I'm no expert. The local welding supply I bought my Miller 175 from told me that I could upgrade my MIG to do TIG for around $400. Some kind of voltage add on unit and then of course different gas and wire. I won't pretend to understand it at this point, but once I get deecent at MIG, I'm going to look into it.

My body shop guy that's going to do the /6 work will only TIG body panels. I'm actually hoping to learn some stuff from him while doing the grunt work on my car at his shop.
Lawrence
I can MIG.

What's the difference?
Gint
Like I said, I'm no expert...

I believe TIG is a smaller, more concentrated arc, and generally is not as hot. Therefore it doesn't burn through aluminum and sheet metal.

Hopefully someone will educate us shortly. I'd like to know for sure myself. confused24.gif
Mueller
MIG uses the electrode (wire) to melt the parent material and fuse the pieces together with the wire. When you squeeze the trigger, you are making an electrical path between the wire and the piece you are working on. (the machine "feeds" the wire into the work)

With the TIG, once you squeeze the trigger, you create a spark between the electrode on the gun and the parent material, once the material starts to melt, you feed in the welding rod which is held separately and independent of the machine. (you feed the rod into the work with your hand)