Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brake Lines and were to buy them
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dralf
I am still working on my front end, and almost ready to put it all together, alas, I am waiting for brake lines from Auto Atlanta. That was a month ago and now when I call to check on the order I just get their comment that they will ship them when they are ready..... sad.gif

I should have checked with you guys rather than go the AA route, but I am still new to all this. I now need the back brake lines also. Where is a fellow to go ? Also, aside from trying an EZ-Out on a broken bleeded valve, is there something else to try before I go and purchase new rear calipers ?

Summer is soon here and my baby is still on jack stands.
F4i
Do you need flex or rigid lines? The rigid ones are usually available at FLAPS.
dralf
I need the ridgid ones ? And where is FLAPS ? confused24.gif
Jeff Bonanno
Friendly Local Auto Parts Store
Rusty
FLAPS = Friendly local auto parts store.

They sell the rigid lines by length. For the price of preformed lines, you can probably get a few generic lines and a tube bender set and do the job yourself.

Trying to bend hard lines without the tool is an exercize in futility (for me, at least). However, for really tight bends close to the end of the hard line, I use the ridge of a beer bottle.

-Rusty smoke.gif
dralf
beer.gif

Thanks for the tips, It may come to doing that myself, I definately know where to find empty beer bottles. As to FLAPS, I live in Ohio and it seems they all think I have a "Porch".
Rusty
Don't say you need them for a Porch/Porsha/Porshay... measure what you have and just tell them you need a metric brake line X inches long.

-Rusty smoke.gif
lmcchesney
Dralf,