Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 205/55R15 vs. 205/60R15
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
horizontally-opposed
Who's running the 205/60s on 15x6s? I've been running 205/55R15s for ten years or so, but I know the rolling diameter is wrong and I have to say I'm starting to like the period SCCA look of 60 series...

Any thoughts? Tire picks in 205/60R15? Clearance issues with stock fenders? I remember running 205 Michelin XGT V4s (lame) on Pedrinis before the five-lug conversion with no problems, then having slight issues up front with the (worn out) 205/60 A008R TUs that came on the Fuchs. Rubbed in front on full lock. But those R Tu's were stupid fun for a day or two...

Was thinking Pirelli P6000s. I know they're a downgrade in terms of grip, but I'm no fan of the ES100s I'm running right now. Definitely grippy, but the square shoulders are unpredicatble in the dry and greasy in the rain (even on our WRX, also on ES100s). These are no replacement for Yoko's sublime AVS Intermediate. Plus, to me, the ultra-modern tread pattern just doesn't look "right" on the 914.

Thoughts?
Porsche Rescue
Double check with Tire Rack by phone. They closed out the AVS Intermediates but sometimes have a few left in the warehouse after they stop listing them online. I have 205/60's on 4 lug 5.5" ATS's with no problems.
Eric_Shea
The 60's did not fit on my 914-6 (205/60-15x6)

Fronts were fine. Passengers rear rubbed like crazy. I believe I'm running 195/50-15x6's all the way around now and I love them (street).
anthony
I've also been thinking about a set of 205-55-15s. What do you guys think about tires in the $60-80 range? The Pole Positions sound nice but seem a little pricey at $125/ea. From a tirerack search I get the following in that price range:

Bridgestone Potenza G009
Bridgestone Potenza RE910
Kuhmo ASX
Yokohama Avid V4S
Pirelli P6000 & P4000 & P6
Kuhmo 711
Kuhmo 712
Dunlop FM901
seanery