Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: High HP 914?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
d k
Hello people.

I'm a noob here, but been around cars for awhile.

Recently acquired a 75 914 that is very clean and going to do the Subaru conversion. Car will be used mostly for track events and some odd miles on the street.

The question that I had, is how does this car respond to high horsepower? In stock form, the EJ257 will put out 300 at the crank and I'm wondering if it makes sense to tweak it a little more....

I've seen a few conversions done here and read through a ton of threads. Some very helpful info here, but I haven't read anybody's feedback on what the chassis will do if throw 500hp at it? Besides all the supporting mods necessary to handle the power, what will the driving dynamics be??
Maybe it's not worth to do anything except just the engine swap, but since it's going to get a full cage, big brakes and aero, maybe go big driving.gif

David
Jaymann
Sounds really expensive ,buy one already done for less than half.Save yourself alot of time and money.Ballpark, for what you are describing ,you are looking at over 30,000.Jake sold a real sweet car here with 140 h.p. for under 9,000 that was good to go,and I am sure it was pretty fast too.So, do you wanna drive, or do you want a hobby??? Are you a race car driver???Jason
PeeGreen 914
Only people I recall reading about that have anywhere near that kind of HP have full cages and a 914 shell. I am sure others will chime in. I certainly do not think the 914 needs that kind of HP as it is a very nimble car. You add a ton of HP to a nimble car and you make it not so nimble.

Good luck on the build and I look forward to seeing your progress.
RJMII