Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 3.6 mount
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Loser_Cruiser
Just wondering who else makes a 3.6 six mount besides pms or if theirs is the best.
SirAndy
QUOTE(Loser_Cruiser @ May 3 2011, 04:20 PM) *

Just wondering who else makes a 3.6 six mount besides pms or if theirs is the best.

Rich Johnson

a914guy -at- aol.com

thumb3d.gif
pcar916
Your gonna change to a single-row crank pulley right? The 3.6 uses a double-row pulley that's too wide for standard mounts. Having done that the alternator/fan pulley has to be replaced as well since the original is a dual-speed unit with a bearing to take up the difference.
I've been using the PMS bar for many years but would use a firewall mount (like Rich Johnson's) if doing it again. But I like that it weighs practically nothing and is out of the way of the shifter, but the outer mount bosses ride low and scrape driveway curbs a lot. Once they scrape PMS won't honor the warranty.
AZ914
FWIW, I think all the new PMS mounts are firewall mounts.
patssle
But I like that it weighs practically nothing and is out of the way of the shifter,

Is that a con of the PMS mount, is it in the way of the shifter?

Need to purchase my /6 mount for my 3.0L, need to decide between PMS and RJ.
GeorgeRud
I have a RJ mount, but also looked at the PMS mounting system. If it is a racecar that needs to have the transmission taken out often, I think the PMS would be the way to go. For a street car, the RJ mount is very nice.

Actualy, I didn't mind my old QuickSix mount, but it wouldn't fit when I converted to heat exchangers instead of headers.
Loser_Cruiser
QUOTE(pcar916 @ May 3 2011, 05:12 PM) *

Your gonna change to a single-row crank pulley right? The 3.6 uses a double-row pulley that's too wide for standard mounts. Having done that the alternator/fan pulley has to be replaced as well since the original is a dual-speed unit with a bearing to take up the difference.