Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Metric Tap & Die Set
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ptravnic
I've tried the cheaper no name brands and they are worthless. Where does one get a good strong set that will last?
underthetire
MSC industrial supply, Local machine shop tooling store etc.. but be prepared, the good stuff aint cheap. I will say the cheaper "quality import" stuff at MSC is still 10X better than the general stuff at the hardware store, and 100X better than the HF stuff.
914Sixer
I have been using the same Craftsman set for 20+ years. I can not vouch for the quality now though.
underthetire
Oh, btw you probably want hand plug taps. There are a lot of different style taps for machine shops.
Rotary'14
I would think sears craftsman brand would be good enough for home mechanic uses,, doesn't their tool replacement warranty cover broken taps and dies too?

-Robert
avidfanjpl
I just bought Craftsman.

Not cheap but PERFECT.

I cleaned out all sorts of metric threads on my car, including really small stuff.

No issues at all.

John
Bartlett 914
Hertel makes a nice set. This what I use.
Hertel tap and die set

The picture shows only drills. I think it is in error. The set has the correct drill and tap for most of the sizes you will need. There are some fine thread screws in the 914. These are not there
scrz914
I cleaned out all sorts of metric threads on my car, including really small stuff.

I've heard that a thread "chaser" is different then a tap. Does anyone know if this is true. I'm always needing to clean up threads.

Cap'n Krusty
QUOTE(scrz914 @ May 12 2011, 06:58 PM) *

I've heard that a thread "chaser" is different then a tap. Does anyone know if this is true. I'm always needing to clean up threads.