Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: new to 14's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
vw505
i am new to 914's but not air cooled . i have a 74 914 with a bus motor .the car is disasembled and i am going with a chevy v8 swap, 300hp is good . how is the shifter run? i am going to need some help with the rest of the car it has sat for 10yrs and not much works .
Gint
Hi

Not sure exactly what you're after. This should get you started.
Gint
Forgot the stinkin pic. In fact, it may be too large. We'll see...
vw505
i am just looking for some info . does the v8 swap use the stock shift stuff ,the motor is not in the way?
Gint
Never done one myself. Stay tuned... I'm sure some answers will be forthcoming. You might also want to check out the yahoogroups porschev list.
Zeke
It's not nice to rain on anyone's parade. But I just sold a 2.7 six to a gentleman (and I mean that literally) who is taking out the V8 that HE put in. He says because it's a pig in corners. Maybe he will catch this thread and elaborate. Myself, I would drive one before undertaking the task. Of course, maybe you have and that is why you are going to do this.
vw505
i know a guy in jax ,fl that has one and loves it . but he does have all the goodies on it
SirAndy
we have a bunch up here. i drove em. i worked on them.
didn't like any so far. driving feels kind of, hum, unstable ?

they pull very nice on a straight, but i had problems going fast through corners. felt like the car was all over the place and not sticking at all ...

just my 2 cents,
Andy

P.S. on second thought, i would take Richard Hatfield's 750 RW HP V8. She's a beauty wub.gif
Zeke