Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Electronic Ignition
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
KaptKaos
Looking for recommendations on which product to use and a procedure to follow so I can't screw it up too badly.

Let me know.

Thanks,
Joe

73 1.7 - (stock)
RonnieJ
I put a Pertroix in my 1.7 three months ago and it works great wink.gif. All I've heard so far has been good, but I'm new to the 914 community.
ROn
tat2dphreak
pertronix and compufire are both good...

welcome RonnieJ! beer.gif
Bruce Allert
My Pertronics have been goin strong for over a year. Super simple install too... easier than points smilie_pokal.gif

.......b
pbanders
I installed a Crane X3000 a few years ago. Works fine, no need for timing/dwell adjustments any more. But I detected no improvement over the stock ignition system in terms of drivability or performance.
tat2dphreak
QUOTE(pbanders @ Jun 4 2004, 03:18 PM)
I installed a Crane X3000 a few years ago. Works fine, no need for timing/dwell adjustments any more. But I detected no improvement over the stock ignition system in terms of drivability or performance.

yep, from what I hear, if you want a boost in power, mallory is the only way to fly... not cheap though...
Kerrys914
I have pertronix in my '74.

Has anyone heard that if you leave the ignition on and the car is not running (IE the engine dies) the pertronix will burn up?

Cheers
Kerry
Bruce Allert
I've heard about it but I've gone away with mine running & came back after 5 minutes with it not running and no harm was done. This I've done 3 or 4 times.

Now watch... now that I've said this I'll get marooned rolleyes.gif

.......b beer.gif
seanery
yes i have heard that.
so, i don't leave the key in the ignition anymore.

74 2.7 has a petronix
and the 72 2.0 has a petronix too
lapuwali