Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Stupid case plug question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
76-914
The case "press in plugs" were removed and the case tapped to 3/8"npt (x5). Do I need to use SS plugs or will the cathodic/anodic ratio (CAR) allow me to use yellow brass plugs? Four of these are clustered. I suppose heat and oil movement will come in to play as sources of energy and accelerate the action? confused24.gif
SLITS
Well Mr. Corrosion Engineer ... check the table ... shit forgot what it's called ... oh well ... the one that shows the potential for corrosion when two metals are mated & pick the ones that are closest together.

I thought most shops just used steel.

Ah hah .... Galvanic Corrosion .... Galvanic Corrosion Chart
rick 918-S
I'm no expert but I would perfer Aluminum plugs for the best expansion and contraction match. I would deduce that's why the metal plugs eventually loosen and pop out. But that's just my WAG. I really don't see a reason why you can't use brass also.
majkos
some time in the past, I acquired an engine case in with a bunch of parts I bought from Motorsport (he close up business sad.gif )

it has brass plugs, sooooo.... confused24.gif
McMark
rick, alu to alu has galling problems. Steel don't leak. done
pilothyer
If you want the best answer to your question, why gamble with popular opinion.......Ask The Surgeon General of all things 914 Engines, ask Jake Raby. He alone knows the tried and true definitive answer. Remember this: Only trust God for the forgivness of your sins........Only trust Jake Raby for answers about Porsche 914 engines.
76-914
QUOTE(SLITS @ May 29 2011, 08:47 AM) *

Well Mr. Corrosion Engineer ... check the table ... shit forgot what it's called ... oh well ... the one that shows the potential for corrosion when two metals are mated & pick the ones that are closest together.

I thought most shops just used steel.

Ah hah .... Galvanic Corrosion .... Galvanic Corrosion Chart