Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Seam Sealer OVER Ospho?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
TargaToy
Ospho bare or rusty metal, seam sealer, THEN primer?
Jeff Hail
QUOTE(TargaToy @ Jun 4 2011, 02:32 PM) *

Ospho bare or rusty metal, seam sealer, THEN primer?

Seam sealers or caulking always over primer. Never on bare metal.
jmill
QUOTE(Jeff Hail @ Jun 4 2011, 04:48 PM) *

Seam sealers or caulking always over primer. Never on bare metal.

Found out the hard way on that one. I welded in a headlight bucket, used ospho and then seam sealed. I did some welding on the back side and it caught the seam sealer on fire. I scraped the burnt up sealer off and to my surprise there was already rust underneath it. I always prime first now. Thankfully that was the only area I did this to.
TargaToy
Why was there rust if the area had been Ospho'd? Did the seam sealer counteract its effect?
jmill
I'm no chemical engineer. My only conclusion was that there was some chemical reaction type deal going on. This was not an instant reaction. I seam sealed it weeks after the Ospho. Primed it. Seam sealer was on there a week. I welded near it. The seam sealer caught fire. It sat around a week before I scraped it off and found rust. The burning seam sealer might have even given off some crazy chemical that neutralized the Ospho and ate into the metal. confused24.gif

All I know is that I prime first now because it's better safe that sorry.
Katmanken
Ospho doesn't kill the rust, it neutralizes the surface of the rust. If it's surface rust, it's a good solution. If it's a thick rust bubble, treating it with Ospho is like pissing into the wind. It's gonna come back.

Wire brush thick rust out, Ospho to treat the remaining surface rust, then I like self etching, 2 part catalyzed primer. The paint is made to etch into metal (like Ospho), so any Ospho residue won't screw the paint. Then seam seal, let dry, and paint again.