Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A couple newbie questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
JayKoit
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie thats still getting his feet wet, so bear with me.

I've been hanging out in the forums here and had a couple questions:

-What makes a Raby inspired engine?

-What is a CW restoration? what does CW stand for?

-I'm hoping to get a 914 to restore in the near future. If I don't find one with the GT flared fenders, is it really difficult to put them on a standard 914?

Like i said, I'm green and I'm still learning. Thanks!
eric9144
welcome.png

-What makes a Raby inspired engine?

Go see @ www.aircooledtechnology.com He's a site member and all around TypeIV guru.

Concours winning!

GT flared fenders, is it really difficult to put them on a standard 914?

No, well if you're a body guy then no, they are available and easily installed...

Good luck with your search, 914's are addicting and quite fun to drive! driving.gif
Tom_T
QUOTE(eric9144 @ Jun 6 2011, 01:57 PM) *

Concours winning!

... well, errr - it also can stand for Concours Weenie or Concours Wanker, etc.! biggrin.gif
....... and I can say this, cuz I've apparently inadvertantly become one. dry.gif

Basically a CW car is a 914 that is factory original and/or kept/preserved or restored to perfect condition as either an original or in some cases a modified example (e.g.: a "tribute" resto conversion to 914-6/GT look/stds.), which is entered in Concours d'Elegance events with the Porsche Club of America (PCA), VW & Car Clubs, etc. (or capable of such entry/competition - even if the owner doesn't do so).