Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welcome to my Hell-Hole UPDATE: I'm going for it.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
skaufmann
My recent acquisition is up on jackstands for the first time and I decided to spend a little time under her skirt. I now regret it. I should note that I inherited this car so it only cost me a couple bills to trailer it from LA to my driveway in San Diego. I was okay not knowing much about the condition other than what I could see in pictures (see sig). It's been sitting for 8+ years and has 101k original miles.

I'm new to the 914 and have heard a lot about this "hell-hole". I decided to see what mine was like. As you can see from the pics, it's not good. While I know almost every 914 that has been driven to some extent has this problem, I just thought that due to the condition of the rest of the car, I would be immune. (Not really but one can always wish and hope)

While I knew I likely was not immune, it wasn't till I saw the damage that depression set in. I really just want to get this running again and drive it before I invest (dump) money into it. Kind of like your baby smiling at you to make all other bad memorys go away.

Anyway, I'm soliciting some reasonable advice. My main concern at this point is the structural integrity of the frame. The hole in the pic was not there until after I easily push it out with my fingers. It's about 4 inches. Inside the rocker is filled with, well, rocks, kicked up from the wheel well so it's hard to tell if the frame is compromised. From looking inside the well, the opposite wall is in tact. I can't push through it with my finger and tapping it seems solid. Jack-pad, suspension connections, etc all look structurally in tact. Car is on stands using the jackpad and there is no give.