Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2056 w/djet
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Porschef
Not to piggyback the thread below but I've been meaning to ask for a while. Would anyone with this setup care to offer their opinions?

I've been considering what to do when rebuild time comes, and would like to have a plan ready. I'm basically a driver, but really, what could a 35yr old 2.0 be putting out at this point...its a GC w/125 psi comp. 70,80hp? Other than the annoying oil leaks, I should get through this year fine.

Geoff, I think you've got this..would you do it again? I'm driving on Long Island...all the red lights and traffic you want.

Is 120-130hp all the difference you'd expect?

thanks,

Joe
EdwardBlume
I have a 2056 with D-jet and its plenty of fun without the "gee am I going to wrap myself around a tree?" performance. I think the combination of suspension and 2056 makes it come together...
Tom_T
Talk to McMark at Original Customs on here, since he has the exclusive to build the Raby 2056, & look at his website (banner ads & member vendors section posts). Also go to the Raby website to read up on the 2056 & up T-4's.

Some of what you can do will depend upon what NY will let you do regarding the smog set-up, cuz the crapalytic converter etc. really sapped the HP, but in CA for example the 76 MY is NOT smog exempt - so it must comply.

The 75-76 GC 2.0 only put out 88 HP - just 8 more than the 70-72 1.7's 80!
... that compares to 95 on the 73-74 GA 2.0, which is why in late 75 I passed on a sweet deal from a local P+A dealer on an unsold 75 2.0, and got my 73 2.0 in Dec. instead (with 100% financing, lower interest & longer term new vs. used it was almost a toss-up). I drove both and the extra 6 HP made some difference, but the higher Torque in the GA was the real killer!