Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: newbie oil change question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
potomacmidget
All,

I just ordered the oil strainer gasket kit/crush washer + a mahle filter from pelican, and I read a string from the Cap'n on how to change the oil (I have had my 71 1.7L for a couple of months) but noted on pelican that they don't sell the washer for the drain plug anymore. Will I be able to re-use the washer on the drain plug? (assuming there is one on there) and/or who else should I buy one from? As I am new to this car (I have an MG as my other toy) what other vendors should I look up online? Any advice appreciated.

thanks
Reg
NORD

Thats right nobody sells them. I had to go to the Porsche Dealer

told him I wanted 6 ea. He gave me 6 ea. for free and told me

if thier wrong come see him. They were the gaskets for the

strainer kit. The plug is a little more wider driving.gif

welcome.png
potomacmidget
QUOTE(NORD @ Jun 18 2011, 03:12 PM) *

Thats right nobody sells them. I had to go to the Porsche Dealer

told him I wanted 6 ea. He gave me 6 ea. for free and told me

if thier wrong come see him. They were the gaskets for the

strainer kit. The plug is a little more wider driving.gif

welcome.png

Thanks Nord - off to the local dealership next week...

Reg
type47
One source I use for type IV stuff that is "close" to us is bus depot in PA. Not worth it to just order drain washers but when you get a few items and that makes the shipping worth it. McMaster-Carr also has a nice selection of hardware.

busdepot.com

I've also used Pelican, GPR, AA, autohausaz, bus boys, others that don't come to mind
potomacmidget
QUOTE(type47 @ Jun 18 2011, 06:42 PM) *

One source I use for type IV stuff that is "close" to us is bus depot in PA. Not worth it to just order drain washers but when you get a few items and that makes the shipping worth it. McMaster-Carr also has a nice selection of hardware.

busdepot.com