Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: PORSCHE TERMINOLOGY
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914.SBC
I am new to the world still and I see these phrases all the time but like in shcool, I hope no question is a dumb quesiton.

"Teener" How did phrase get coined and I assume it means small or tiny like the 914?
"Concourse" What type of 914 is this?

huh.gif
Dr Evil
Teener = short for nine fourteen

Concourse = show room quality and specs. An "as original" car.
Strudelwagon
QUOTE(914.SBC @ Jun 25 2011, 10:23 AM) *

I am new to the world still and I see these phrases all the time but like in shcool, I hope no question is a dumb quesiton.

"Teener" How did phrase get coined and I assume it means small or tiny like the 914?

huh.gif

PO = Previous owner (usually used when describing something they did)
Variations are (SPO, DAPO, FPO etc.) av-943.gif
CW = Concours weenie (not that there is anything wrong with that)
popcorn[1].gif
ewdysar
QUOTE(914.SBC @ Jun 25 2011, 10:23 AM) *

huh.gif

Teener = Can also mean one who owns, or is a big fan of Nine Fourteens, i.e. a 'teener
Concourse = a place where pathways or roads meet and not a relevent term here.
Concours = a competitive examination, more specifically Concours d'Elegance, a competition among car owners on the appearance of their cars. In our circles , this also leads to CW, a concours weenie, one who spend an inordinate amount of time detailing their car with tiny brushes and toothpicks. A CW also obsesses over the accuracy of every small aspect of their car, possibly up to where the air in their tires came from. blink.gif
Tom_T
Concours is from the French Concours d'Elegance - a competitive event to decide the most elegant car in the vintage/antique car world (the "s" at the end of Concours is silent).