Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Valve adjustment weirdness
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Java2570
Ok, I'm a newbie with a 1974 914 2.0L. I am replacing my heat exchangers and exhaust this week and while I have them off, I figure I'd adjust the valves while
I've got extra room to do so. So.... I spent time finding TDC notch on my flywheel and scribed a mark corresponding on the bottom viewing window of the trans.
I also have a red paint mark that was made on the fan that lines up with this as well.
When I go to adjust valves on #1, they are very tight and can't even get a feeler gauge into it to adjust. Then when I try to loosen the screw, it is making no difference in the looseness of the adjustment. What is happening here? Am I making some stupid mistake or is there something wacky going on? I've adjusted valves before on Karmann Ghias so I know how to do the adjustment basically. Also, the nuts are not
13 mm, they are 14 mm on this engine. I know the engine is from a 1975 car but I'm
not sure if the rocker arms were replaced or not......confused.
Am I doing something wrong here? Thanks!
VaccaRabite
QUOTE(Java2570 @ Jun 27 2011, 10:18 AM) *

Ok, I'm a newbie with a 1974 914 2.0L. I am replacing my heat exchangers and exhaust this week and while I have them off, I figure I'd adjust the valves while
I've got extra room to do so. So.... I spent time finding TDC notch on my flywheel and scribed a mark corresponding on the bottom viewing window of the trans.
I also have a red paint mark that was made on the fan that lines up with this as well.