Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Instructions...diagrams or pictures??
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mueller
Do you most of you actually read the instructions or do you wait till you hit a wall?

Are instructions with too many details and notes bad?
TonyAKAVW
I prefer diagrams. The problem with some diagrams is that they miss important detail that a picture may contain. Also, relative dimensions can be lost in poorly made diagrams.

I read the instructions on the PP site in their tech article section before doing something to my car. I'm a relative newbie at working on cars and I am afraid of messing things up permanently, so I usually read through fisrt before doing anything.

Instructions with too many details: depends on your level of expertise. Some things are obvious to some that are a mystery to others. Err on the side of excessive detail but not to the point that the main idea is lost. Maybe put critical information in bold and leave minor details in normal type.

Photos are great as a sanity-check, because you can make a true one-to-one comparison between what you have done and what the correct installation or configuration should look like.

-Tony
Lawrence
The first place I go is diagrams, later to written instructions. Personally, I have to be able to see the "big picture" before I can put the details together in my mind.

For me, the best of all possible worlds would be diagrams with explicit footnotes.

-Rusty
seanery
When I was younger I would only read the directions if I couldn't figure it out myself.
Now I read the directions, then I'd look at the diagram and/or pictures and then read the instructions again.
Jeff Krieger