Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: CV joint race: Should I reuse these?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rjames
It's hard to tell in the photos, but there is some pretty good pitting on the two races that are on the transmission side of the axles. I was going to swap them with the races on the other side of the respective axles, but upon further inspection, one looks like it is developing a crack.
I would hate to have gone through all of this trouble to rebuild the CV joints only to have them fail on me later.
If the consensus, is yes, they should be replaced, does anyone have a set I could buy? These are NLA, right? headbang.gif

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
TheCabinetmaker
I'm no expert on cv's, but i was taught to not mix the races, balls and cages. There are a couple of guys here that modify the type I beetle cv's to work with the 914 axle, so "new" is available. Look in the member vendors forum.
pcar916
Garbage. The balls and outer races are worn as well in this case.

The factory used to sell the cv components as separate part numbers but it stopped at some point. Some manufacturers have the races numbered in size categories and, on my own car, I have been known to use assembled cv's on a street car. But I can mic the balls to .0001in and be certain that I have used a good lens to look at the surfaces. That said I would never do it to a customer car.

Good luck!
jimkelly
http://www.pmbperformance.com/catalog/item...868/3857681.htm

is your question ... how many miles do you think i can get out of these ??

my guess is probably thousands ??

that said - our cars generally need just about every part replaced.

jim
pcar916
Ooops, where to buy them, Zims had some a couple of years ago but they were terribly expensive. PMB looks pretty good at that rate.

You can have someone local do it for your stock vw cv's if you trust the machine shop, but I'd get the cost first and add it to the cv cost to compare.
rjames