Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Correct size for upper fuel line clamps
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ezbngreen914
I'm replacing the upper fuel lines on my 1.7. I'm a novice as far as working on cars goes (only had my 914 for 9 months, I have a feeling some day I will be an expert), but I want to make sure I get this right. Some "kits" come with a #13 clamp and others with a number #15 clamp. When I tighten the #15 clamp to the max it is snug around the non connected hose but I can still pull the clamp off. I imagine that when the line is on the fuel rail or other connections that it may flare a little and therefor the # 15 clamp would be tighter. Just looking for a little reasurance or correction. Thanks everybody!

" beerchug.gif 914 World... Don't own a 914 without it!"
type47
I think the current recommendation is to use a "fuel injection" clamp which differs from a "worm gear" or "hose" clamp in that the band is solid and not slotted (for the worm gear). Idea is that the slots cut into the rubber hose and weaken it. FI clamps should be available at local FLAPS; take in a piece of hose to get correct size clamp.

I copied this pic from McMaster-Carr to show the style. If I recall, the factory edges are even rolled slightly to avoid cutting into the rubber.

Click to view attachment
ezbngreen914
QUOTE(type47 @ Aug 11 2011, 01:13 PM) *

I think the current recommendation is to use a "fuel injection" clamp which differs from a "worm gear" or "hose" clamp in that the band is solid and not slotted (for the worm gear). Idea is that the slots cut into the rubber hose and weaken it. FI clamps should be available at local FLAPS; take in a piece of hose to get correct size clamp.

I copied this pic from McMaster-Carr to show the style. If I recall, the factory edges are even rolled slightly to avoid cutting into the rubber.

Click to view attachment