Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bilstein or Koni shocks for my 75 plus tires
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lonewolfe
I want to install new shocks/struts in my 75 914. I'll be using this car for aggressive street driving. I wish to install either Bilstein or Koni shocks and am leaning towards Bilsteins. It appears there are a couple of different front strut mounts offered on the 914. I see ads for Bilsteins made for a bilstein mount and others for a Boge mount. I believe I have Boge front struts in the car now because they are black. Were there really two different strut mount setups on 914's? How can you tell which ones you have? I have not run into mention of different housings when searching for Koni shocks but do run into the mention of different housings when searching for Bilsteins. I am totally new to 914's having my car for only 2 weeks now. I also want to change out the rear springs. What would you suggest for springs? As for tires, I am buying those too. I was thinking 205/50 15's or perhaps 205/55 15's. Any suggestions for good street tires for my car? As for ride height I'm shooting to lower the car close to the Euro spec.

I've not had much luck using the search function on this site. For whatever I search for I end up getting tons of threads that have absolutely nothing to do with what I'm searching for which is pretty aggravating.

I look forward to seeing what you experienced 914 folks have to suggest.

wingnut86
Welcome to Shangrilah (sp?).
welcome.png

Any pics of your ride?

Color has nothing to do with vendor unfortunately, as many POs have repainted the struts. You'll need to remove one of your front wheels and get a good light/digital camera behind the front rotor for some closeups. If you have access to a lift, this job is much easier. The cleaner the struts, the better.