Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: CCIE anyone?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mikester
CCIE anyone?

Okay, just curious is anyone around here a CCIE?

I'm a Security Engineer for my employer with a great deal of Cisco and UNIX experience. Before I was a Security Engineer I was a Sr. Network Engineer for a large Cable Company managing their Broadband network in Socal.

I've always wanted to attempt the CCIE Routing and Switching but because the economy hasn't been that great in the tech sector I figured finishing my Bachelor's was a better bet - I'm on that route now.

Currently I hold a few Cisco Certs, CCNP, DA and am almost done with the CCSP. Still, I want to go after an IE because of the challenge mainly - it's always thrilled me in that respect. The thing is, if it isn't going to raise my salary significantly then I'm not sure it's worth the effort ( I could just work on my house).

Well, the Boss dropped it on me today - Go after the CCIE Security. Okay, great, happy to do it. Justifies studying on company time. Anyway - he also told me to look for training opportunities. Anyone know of some good training companies in the SoCal area? I have to stay in SoCal due to budgetary restrictions imposed on us because we are a state organization.

What I know about myself is www.ascolta.com and www.globalknowledge.com. They don't have anything that is that high level in security though.

Lame.

Thoughts?

monkeydance.gif
vortrex
I don't really believe in cisco certs. I did start working on mine after I lost my job in 2001, thinking it would help me get a new one, but it didn't. now I have little interest pursuing it more. I have two friends in the bay area that both got jobs in the last week. one has a CCIE and one has essentially nothing. both got jobs from the two largest router companies. the CCIE is making $20k less than the guy with nothing.