Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: new B to 914's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
varmint
hello everyone

Just joined the club but I've been reading and learning for a couple of weeks now. I bought the 914 in Tampa a couple of weeks ago on Ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...2483069182&rd=1
and have been busy fixing tail lights, blinkers, horn, etc. I still have brake light issues as the PO has apparently made several modifications to the wiring. I also have a backfire on decel and will drive the car on ramps (scary) to check for exhaust leaks. I'm having 2nd thoughts after reading that the motor must be dropped to change a clutch! I am no mechanic and I hope that I can find a reasonable one in this (Pensacola) area. Looks like most of you are in the CA area?
dinomium
welcome to the club! I really dig the racing stripe! Don't be scared by the dropping the engine to change the clutch, it is really pretty easy to remove. You can replace the clutch with the engine in the car, but it is much more diffacult.
The are some really great articals and people that can talk you thru just about every thing here! you might want to ask somebody besides me... I am really good a removing, just not so quick to put the engines back in!
0 for 3 right now, but the motors look really kewl in my garage!

You are in for one heck of a ride!! wink.gif
Korijo
welcome to the club! I bought my 914 on Ebay too biggrin.gif
SLITS
Welcome and take your place amongst the insane. wacko.gif

You do not need to drop the motor to change the clutch.
You jack up the rear, place jackstands to hold the car up, put a floorjack under the engine and put pressure on it. You then disconnect the axles, shift linkage, clutch cable, speedo cable, starter, tranny ground strap and the rear 4 bolts that fasten the tranny to the body.

You then lower the engine about 2-3 inches and wella, you can then pull the tranny.

Much easier if you have access to an overhead lift.