Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rust - What kind of $$$ am I looking at to repair?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
afiniti
Hey guys. I'm new to the world of 914's, and I've been initiated into them with a car that has significant rust in floorpans (and probably in longs). Based on your experience, what is it going to cost me to have a knowledgeable 914 guy repair/replace the metal in these areas? I hate to just chalk it up to a "newbie" mistake and scrap the project. There are fewer of these things left every year, and if it's possible to save it, at a reasonable cost, I might be willing to spring for the repairs. Based on your experience, what kind of cost am I looking at if I strip it all the way to the metal, and then have a pro repair/replace the rusty areas in the floor and longs?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure there must be a few people on here who have faced this same tough decision and were able to get some good estimates.
Krieger
welcome.png Post some pictures. Make sure you include the area under the battery. Depending on your skills or bank account it is possible, but it may cost you more than buying another car.
jmill
My newbie mistake is pictured below. It was a 2 liter with fuchs so I didn't lose money after I parted it out. I then bought a fairly rust free example and shipped it up from AZ. I paid about 3k with shipping included. We can't give you a good estimate without pics.

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif

sean_v8_914
this guys newbie mistake broke in half on my lift
afiniti
QUOTE(Krieger @ Oct 21 2011, 08:37 AM) *

welcome.png Post some pictures. Make sure you include the area under the battery. Depending on your skills or bank account it is possible, but it may cost you more than buying another car.