Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Looking at a roller
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
afiniti
Hey guys, looking at a roller. Most of the car is rust free according to seller (longs, floors, etc.). There is a little surface rust here and there, but car is already stripped down on the outside. The only thing that concerns me (because I'm new at this) is this area. Can a few of you experienced guys look at these pics and tell me how much work this looks like to clean out, and if you see any major problems here? Obviously new tray and support are needed, but what about that hole down in the bottom?

IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
SLITS
Battery support and shelf ... $80 new?

Possibly engine shelf .... $180 new

Welding parts in ... $??.??

What does the hell hole look like? That could cost a bit if it is rusted out.

afiniti
QUOTE(SLITS @ Oct 25 2011, 06:27 AM) *

Battery support and shelf ... $80 new?

Possibly engine shelf .... $180 new

Welding parts in ... $??.??

What does the hell hole look like? That could cost a bit if it is rusted out.

Supposedly hell hole is ok, but I haven't had a chance to see the pics for that yet. I have a skilled welder who will weld in the pieces very cheaply. He'll actually do it for free, but I feel obligated to pay him for his time.
SLITS
Battery tray assembly can be removed by drilling spot welds. I believe the engine tray might be spot welded in to, but regardless is replaceable.

You need a picture of the metal below the ECU mount on the battery tray.
Loser_Cruiser
It looks saveable, especially if you already have someone who can do the welding for you. If it turns out to be to rusty pm me, depending on where you are in the NW I have two pretty decent shells for sale cheap.
914werke
I see a hole in the top of the long....
ANY penetrations in that area usually means the inside is compromised,
to what extent .. ?
Id get underneath the car and look up at that area...
You'll have a better idea how bad.