Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Temp sensor monitoring cylinder #2
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lmcchesney
Urghhh. When autocraft put my heads on, they switched the sides. Now my temp sensor #2 is on cylinder #2 instead of #3. My memory is that temp sensor is a reverse relationship ( temp increases=resistance decreases). IS this significant? My thinking is that Cylinder #2 runs cooler less than #3. Thus, sensor at cylinder #2 would read more resistance than would be reflected by Cylinder #3. Thus, how do I compensate or will I need to switch the heads again?
Thanks,
L.McC
davep
You are correct about the relationship. I suppose the wires might reach and it could be run that way. Not an optimum set-up, but it might work okay. Personally, I'd have the shop do the swap.
phantom914
Well, this helps answer a question I had. I am new to 914 ownership and I have been learning about D-Jet. It looked to me that my CHT was on the #2 cylinder and I thought that at some point the heads must have been switched inadvertently after a head rebuild, but I did not know if they could be swapped side to side. Appartently they can.

I don't think the stock wiring reaches, because mine has a wire that was added and plugs into the existing connectors.

Since the CHT acts more like a switch, I don't think it will affect much. Once the cylinder reaches the right temperature, this mixture will be leaned out. If anything, you would run a little richer with the CHT on a cooler cylinder (which #2 is).

Since the shop screwed up, if I were you I would make them swap the heads anyway. I am in a different boat and probably won't bother until the heads need work.

Andrew
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(lmcchesney @ Aug 6 2004, 06:37 AM)
My thinking is that Cylinder #2 runs cooler less than #3.

is this true any more ?

in VW antiquity, it was true of the upright engines because #3 sat downstream of the upright oil cooler.