Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie here, first post
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ambergris
Hi all,
I guess I've spent enough time trying to download the entire BBS into my head, so I may as well speak up and say "hi" to everyone.
I recently aquired a 1974 914 2.0 from my girlfriend's parents (who are the original owners). It was languishing in San Diego, where her brother was using it as a daily driver for college until it just stopped running. I paid for the trip to the mechanic and a new ignition, and drove the car up from SD to the San Francisco bay area... and that was the last time the car hasn't been on ramps wink.gif
I'm a total mechanical newbie, so I've been starting out slow. I've fixed an exterior door handle, adjusted the clutch, replaced some light bulbs, and swapped out the shift bushings, the tranny mounts, and the motor mounts. Right now I'm replacing the oil seals on the shift selector rod.
Between this BBS and the Pelican tech articles, I've been able to keep myself busy. The hard part is making the time to actually work on the car.
The main reason I got this car was to actually do all this stuff myself. So far it's been a blast, and the car has proven to be a real treat both to work on and drive. And as I get myself more and more over my head, I'm sure I'll be posting again and again.

Thanks for your time,
Max
Danville, CA
Jeff Bonanno
Welcome Max!
ruddyboys
Welcome to the Addiction Max. beerchug.gif
watsonrx13
Max, welcome to the ABYSS.... rocking nana.gif
Root_Werks
Welcome! boldblue.gif

L20E is my favorite color! Not to worry, you are surrounded by 914 geeks here. We will help the disease manifest for you. biggrin.gif
lapuwali
Always good to hear from someone that's willing to dive and and do it all themselves. Sounds like you've done a lot already.