Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tranny alternatives?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tributary
Apparently my 914 needs new syncros...since I am a weekend mechanic at best
my thought is to just get a new tranny.... estimates are about 2 grand...wow!
I might not be able to sell the car for that..

Question..

Are there other trannys from other cars that might work?
Is replacing the syncros something a weekend hack could undertake?

Don't Volkswagon's have trans axles ...are there kits that could convert?

The car is fun to drive and all but is by no means a hot rod...
I just want to be able to shift smoothy through the gears...
I am not one to drive over 100 mph often...
Just looking for it to be a nice driver...the motor is new...

any advice appeciated ...

John wacko.gif
seanery
Is it a side or tail shifter?

You can pick up side-shifter trannies very reasonable:
swap meets $75-150
eBay $125-250
classifieds $100 +

Tailshifters are less

good luck
jr91472
Based on my shopping of estimates, you can get a full re-built between $1000-$1500 depending on what they find inside the tranny. Could be less if indeed all you need are syncro's

good luck

JR
GaroldShaffer
you can get a full re-built between $1000-$1500 depending on what they find inside the tranny

agree.gif
Dave_Darling
There are no other transmissions that "just bolt up and work". However, with enough time and money and fabrication, you can make just about anything fit and work.

--DD
sgomes
We need a "I completely disagree" smilie...

I would be HIGHLY sceptical of a $1000 901. HIGHLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe others have had vastly different experiences than me but I've paid more than that twice and both times got hosed. (Brad can chime in on what I got for $1800 bucks)

If it is a totally unknown and out of the car tranny I would not suggest buying anything under 2.5kilo-bucks.
jr91472