Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Parts advice re: 914 for newbie
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
afiniti
I need some front ball joints for my 1970 914. Any recommendations on where to buy parts? I found this place through google that has them for $59.95 free shipping.

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/shop_par...orsche/914.html

However, I'm new to this game, and don't know if these are quality parts, or whether I should be buying from somewhere else? Any advice from you veterans?

Thanks in advance!
Spoke
Check at Pelican Parts for your 914 needs. There are other smaller specialty houses also. They have the same ball joints for the same price without telling you that you'll save $66.
Laura-4-Lyfe
I second Pelican Parts if you are ordering online. Have you checked for any local independent parts stores in your town? I do the majority of my parts buying from an import parts store about a mile from my house. When I first started going there they were comparable to internet pricing. Now that I am a regular I get a pretty good discount.
Dr Evil
Check GPR as they are members here and will hook you up with great service.
underthetire
I second GPR . Next choice would be pmb and pelican. They all actually know these cars and what fits, they also know what csob's we all are!
luskesq
I've heard good things about GPR & PMB but haven't used them, yet. Pelican is a good source with quick delivery. I have also purchased from Automotion which pricewise is very competitive and often cheaper than Pelican, quality parts and quick delivery.

Keith
rick 918-S
GPR agree.gif
EdwardBlume
GPR will treat you like you matter.
markb
Yup, GPR

800 321-5432
afiniti
Awesome, thanks for the recommendations guys. Also, one more question. Some are selling ball joint kits, some are selling just the ball joints themselves. Do I need to get new pins, lock plates, etc., or can I just get the ball joints and reuse the rest of the parts already on the car?