Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Would this be a good 914 to purchase?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
cplego7
Hi I'm new the webstite basicly because I'm wondering if this car would be very restorable? And what it looks like it may need. If I get it, I'm wanting to fix it up enough to run, fixing the majar rust, and try to prevent the rest from getting worse for the next few years. I asked for a few more pictures and in the pictures a few of the pans will need replaced. The only thing I'm worried about is the rocker panel area. I am a beginner with working on cars but I'm willing to learn and work on it. Thanks! For any input.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1974-Porsch...13#ht_500wt_948
johannes
"Quit driving it in 1987 when the right rear suspension mounting point rusted out"
That sounds very bad !!! that means the longs are dead.

Parts car... Could be worth the price if it doesn't go over 500.
Save you money and buy a better one.
somd914
QUOTE(johannes @ Dec 8 2011, 04:05 AM) *

"Quit driving it in 1987 when the right rear suspension mounting point rusted out"
That sounds very bad !!! that means the longs are dead.

Parts car... Could be worth the price if it doesn't go over 500.
Save you money and buy a better one.

agree.gif Not a beginners project - major body work, engine rebuild (turned over and ran fine 25 years ago, that likely won't be the case now), and the list goes on and on. Plenty of respectable 914s out there in the $5k-$10k range which is less than you'll put into this.
billh1963
Look on this site for some project cars....there are a few nice ones available.
carr914
"Engine ran great in 1987" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

That is a Parts Car only

Run Forrest, Run
sfrenck
QUOTE(billh1963 @ Dec 8 2011, 06:46 AM) *

agree.gif And since you're new to the site they are found in the Classified Forum under "FS/WANTED: 914 Cars and Rollers"