Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need paint advise
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Lennies914
So I've been preping my '75 for paint for the last two weeks and figured I was ready for primer. So I thought I'd do a quick wipe down with acetone and a tack cloth then shoot some primer. Had I been more experienced at painting I probably would have realized sooner that the paint (repaint) that I have been sanding on for two weeks was lacquer headbang.gif . The acetone imeadiatly started washing off the old paint. So hear is my question. Is there anything better and cheaper than acetone to wash down the car? Assuming that I cannot paint over the lacquer with acylic urethane.
Jeffs9146
The other night you said you were going to wipe it with Mineral Spirits...what happened? drunk.gif
ThePaintedMan
Hi Lennie,
First off I need to say that I'm just a hobby painter, thought I've been doing bodywork for the past ten years when I first started working on cars in high school. So if any other more experience folks come along, I'd follow what they say.

Ideally, we would want to remove all of that lacquer first. Urethane CAN be shot over lacquer, but long-term prognosis is not usually good. Are you just shooting 2K over the lacquer? You can use a product called Prep-Sol by DuPont, but being DuPont, it ain't exactly cheap. Most wax and grease removers sold at the FLAPS would work, I think.

So you've already bought the primer? Acrylic? You'd most likely want to continue with lacquer for primer, color and clear, IMHO since thats whats on the car now. But, this depends on what kind of longevity you're looking for and how much you want to spend. I'm all about urethanes, especially in humid areas. Lacquer tends to absorb moisture over time - thats what its a bit outdated.

QUOTE(Lennies914 @ Jan 4 2012, 11:43 PM) *