Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1st gear
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bobp
I asked about this once before long ago and in a faraway place. My car has basically no first gear, I at this point assume it is the synchros. The car has a new clutch and clutch cable. I worked on the shifter alignment some and all the other gears shift fine.

First is almost impossible to engage, except at a very slow rolling speed. Stopped or downshifting to first while moving don't work. It also quite frequently pops out of first when releasing the clutch.

Is replacing the 1st gear synchros something that a fairly novice home mechanic can accomplish in a reasonable time.

This is the one project that has to get done for spring, it definitely takes away from driving enjoyment.
campbellcj
I'm no mechanic, nor do I play one on TV, but you should be able to engage the gear even with bad synchros. It might crunch and require some effort, but it should go in.

I wonder if your problem isn't actually mis-aligned shift forks, or a tweaked shift linkage (adjustment/bushings etc)???

I don't think synchros will cause popping out of gear either. That is an adjustment issue.
bobp
Mine crunchs horribly and often can't be engaged at all. I went through and checked bushings and things and followed a shifter alignment that I found on the net, the rest of the gears now work great, but first sucks.
Brad Roberts
One minor change:

if the dog teeth are bad... it will jump out no matter what condition the synchros are in. (My tube car does this) Dog teeth being the teeth pressed onto the gear.

B
bobp