Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: repairing targa top
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mightyohm
Hi guys - I need some help with fiberglass repair. I have never worked on fiberglass before and I am in way over my head.

I am trying to refinish my Targa top. My top was already smoothed and painted when I bought the car, but the paint was flaking so I decided to refinish it.

I stripped the paint using fiberglass-safe stripper and got down to the gelcoat. That was pretty easy. Then I went over the top with a random orbit sander (100 grit) and got rid of the rest of the paint and got it cleaned up pretty well.

The problem is, the gelcoat has already been sanded through in many places, some of the damage must have been done by the PO and some by me making it worse. There is also a 1/8" divot in the top where the gelcoat is completely gone and it is into the fabric.

I want to prep the top for paint. I am having a professional body shop shoot the top, but I want to prep it as much as possible myself. I want to fill in the divot and low spots and also get the surface smooth. I think the PO used bondo.

Someone told me to use epoxy and a little bit of fiberglass cloth to fill in the divot. Does that sound ok? I have epoxy I bought from TAP plastics but I am not totally sure I know how to use it correctly.

I also think I have to "seal" the exposed fiberglass where the gelcoat has been sanded through. Is that correct? What can I use to seal it? I think if I just use bondo or have the shop prime it then the primer will leech into the fiberglass and cause pinholes.

Help please, I officially have no idea what I am doing. sad.gif

Here are a couple pics:
mightyohm
Targa top showing exposed fiberglass.
Gelcoat = darker colored stuff.
mightyohm
Divot.
Joe Bob
Tops are like 50 bucks....wouldn't be cheaper to find a replacement?
sgomes